The Script – ‘#3’

15 Sep

Since their début in 2008, Irish band, The Script, have only seen success as both their studio albums have gone into the charts at number one. With front-man, Danny O’Donoghue, judging on The Voice UK, the band’s popularity has only increased as their songs become the soundtrack to the average British life. In June, the band announced via twitter that a new album was on its way. There has been a lot of anxiety surrounding the album’s release with expectations high; after all it was written by a talent-show judge. Although currently fighting against iTunes favourite, ‘Coexist’ by The xx, ‘#3‘ has the potential to be the band’s third number one album in tonight’s charts.

#3‘ is a collection that follows on from ‘The Script‘ and ‘Science & Faith‘ with very little alteration to their style. Despite their incredible journey, The Script are still true to themselves as the overall sound is stubbornly rooted in their début. OK, there may be a few surprises, including the appearance of co-Voice judge,, but they are generally tasteful and discreet. There is a lot more hip-hop influence seen this time round, as the vocalists put their pristine voices aside and adopt some Travie McCoy-esque verses, giving the collection an attitude that singles them out from other pop-bands that tend to be much more clean-cut. The lyrics are coherently heart-felt and deep as the band further explore what it means to be human; love, family and politics are once again the dominating themes. The songwriters have produced some interestingly creative metaphors without trailing away from the point they’re making, meaning the album has a complicated character that boarders on ambiguous.   However, whilst there is creativity, there is also a lack originality as many of the songs echo previous singles both in sound and lyrics. But which will strike you, and which will fall into the background, failing to meet the standards lefts by pass records?

1. ‘Good Ol’ Days‘ – A cheerful and upbeat opening, as the boys celebrate their youth. Calling for optimism, the lyrics exploit pessimism and aim to motivate, because “‘when we’re old and grey/In the future these will be the good ol’ days”. With a pub-life vibe and sing-along chorus, the guitars and drums are exciting as the soundscape carries the same edgy attitude seen in the lyrics.

2. ‘Six Degrees Of Separation’  – A song of heartache follows as the lyrics address the distressing process of breaking-up with a loved one. The soundscape is considerably minimal during the verses before exploding with the anthemic chorus, mimicking the yo-yo-like list of stages. Like most of their heartache tracks, there is a hopeful light in the centre that stops the depression from taking over; it is an attempt at carrying on with the optimism seen in the record’s opening. And it works.

3. ‘Hall Of Fame‘ (Ft. – Continuing the optimistic attitude, The Script and team-up for a victorious tune, embracing success and encouraging dreams. The soundscape boarders on epic with old-school riffs, war-like drums, classical strings and a determined piano. The overall effect is powerful, echoing the overwhelming pride that recently engulfed the world during the Summer Olympics; “Be a champion!”

4. ‘If You Could See Me Now‘ – Have your tissues at the ready for this one, as the heart-breaking lyrics are bound to put tears in your eyes. Yearning to please  his late parents, O’Donoghue finds that nothing can replace their love and support. “I still look for your face in the crowd/Oh if you could see me now” he sings in desperation, throwing questions that he knows will never be answered. Powerful and beautiful, it is emotionally exhausting.

5. ‘Glowing‘ – Led by a strong piano melody, this is a song about determination. Carefree yet fearful, the track addresses the ups-and-downs of life that are masked by the security and optimism provided by love.

6. ‘Give The Love Around‘ – Echoing ‘We Cry‘ from their first album, The Script attempt to motivate “a whole damn nation that has lost its trust” into thinking about those around them. Following the idea in the previous track, that life can not be lived alone, they call for a more positive view on community. The soundscape is just as bright as the lyrics, alive with dreamy strings and energetic percussions.

7. ‘Broken Arrow‘ – Another song about determination, the band exploits the harsh realities that accompany hope. The metaphor of the ‘broken arrow’ is a clever one; dreamers will fly but reality will clip their wings. Desperate and frustrated, the soundscape is made-up of a sad guitar and tired drums; the the string of ‘ooo’s provide an ominous feel that leave listeners with goose-bumps. “It’s hard to get to heaven/when you’re born hell-bound”.

8. ‘Kaleidoscope‘ – A little more upbeat, this peculiar metaphor asks for a lover to completely open-up. “Give me everything” he sings, desperate to be trusted. A Muse-esque chorus explodes at the centre, whilst the verses are a little more settled with a jittery guitar and energetic drums. Although it sounds rushed and over-produced, the song still fits in in the band’s discography thanks to the experimental vocals and determined lyrics.

9. ‘No Words‘ – Returning to the title track on their ‘Science & Faith‘ album, love proves one of the most powerful of emotions. The lyrics address a lover that leaves the singer speechless; “when it comes to you/There are no words”. It is just as lovely with a romantic soundscape to match.

10. ‘Millionaires‘ – Back to where we started, the album ends with another youthful and carefree anthem. A strong sing-along chorus leads the single, whilst the verses dreamily reminisce about those good ol’ days with added romance. It is a fun and upbeat ending that is much needed after this emotional adventure.

Enjoy life and learn to love the album teaches. So lay-back and lose yourself in the dreamily raw lyrics and authentic soundscapes.

Check out the album’s leading single below.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: